Thoughts on being a mom to a little girl

Found this draft that I wrote before Olive was born that I never finished:

Just feeling really blessed by my mom.  She is a woman of God and she calms my fears – not by telling me everything is going to be alright, because that’s a lie.  But by reminding me that God is walking beside me and hurts when I hurt and relishes in my happiness.  If I can be that type of reminder to my little girl, everything else will fall into place.

Things she will do because I do, and the best way to teach is by example:

Twirl her hair
Bite her nails
Close her eyes when she sings
Criticize …everything (gotta work on that one)
Be completely in love with Matt
Love to bake

I just wanted to get this posted because it was a nice thought and I never blog anymore.  In the middle of editing 1,000+ photos this week, I can’t help but be the most proud of this one:


Olive, dear, I pray for you every day that above everything else, that you have compassion for others and wisdom to help yourself and everyone you meet.   I pray that you care for nothing more in this life than to help those in need and show the love of Christ to the hurting, to friend the friendless and cook for the hungry.  I want all the other fun stuff for you, too, but ultimately, I pray for your character and your relationship with God to surpass anything I’ve ever known.  Maybe together, we can grow closer to Him.

5 Comments

Filed under General Hoo-Ha, Parenting and the like

5 responses to “Thoughts on being a mom to a little girl

  1. Peggy Palmer

    Wonderful! What a wonderful prayer for Olive. She is blessed to have a mom who cares so much for he and her relationship with the Lord. I love how much you love and care. God bless you always:)

  2. Mom

    Olive will be so glad, someday, that you wrote these things down. I remember once you told me, “Mom, you always say that you pray, but I’ve never heard you pray.” And, it was true. Moms tend to pray in secret, late at night when everyone else is asleep. Maybe, it’s because she thinks she must appear strong fearless to her family. I don’t know. In my case, it is probably because I was taught to pray in secret. You’re off to a wonderful start! Maybe, your daughter will never say those same words to you. But, whether she hears your prayers or not, they will bless her. Your prayer for her is beautiful and definitely what Jesus is looking for, a whole-heart type of devotion.

  3. Aspen

    She reminds me so much of Matt (your brother Matt) in this picture. That grin… I love her!

  4. Lib

    You are going to be one awesome Mom to that sweet, precious girl-love you so much my friend!

Leave a Reply

