My Favorite Things

This week I will post several of my most favorite recipes. These are ones I make most often, that are easiest to me and that have just enough familiarity that I have started to do them from memory, no need to seek out weights and measures. (this is what I hope will happen with all recipes eventually.)

 

The Only Guacamole Recipe You’ll Ever Need

2 large avocados
1 lime
1 plum tomato, seeded and diced
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
2 hearty scallions
1 jalapeño, small dice
1 generous sprinkle of Kosher salt

 

I hope you know how to pick out avocados. If you gently squeeze them and your finger goes in more than a quarter inch, they are too ripe. You want slight give…but not rock hard. If you do get rock hard avocados, take them home and put them in a brown paper bag for a couple of days and make your guacamole then.

 

Anyway, scoop out the flesh of the avocados into a medium-sized bowl. Add tomatoes, garlic, scallions, jalapeño and salt and mix well. (I use a potato masher or a small whisk and just punch it a few times–I like chunks). Squeeze half a lime over the top and mix in. Squeeze the other half on top and sprinkle with a touch more salt (to taste) and serve. The lime will keep the avocado from turning brown. Serve with warm corn tortilla chips.

 

Serves 4 or 1 person over the course of an afternoon.

 

dsc_0031.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under Food Stuffs

4 responses to “My Favorite Things

  1. Okay, I’ve always wondered this…is a scallion an onion? This sounds delicious!! I need photography and cooking lessons from you. 🙂

  2. Yes, a scallion is in the onion family. It’s that long green stalk with a white bulby bottom. You may get it confused with the word Shallot, which is also in the onion family and looks like a small, light purplish head of garlic.

    Oh, and by the way..cooking lessons – maybe. Photography lessons? Are you joking? You are fabulous (not to mention, you book 800 times more clients than I do, haha!) What we should really do is combine forces and be the most awesome photog duo ever. 🙂

  3. Libby

    this is most definitely the best guac that I have ever had….I better go write it down:)

  4. did you make it or have you just had mine?

Leave a Reply

