Recipe of the Day

dsc_0096.jpg again, no pic of the food, so here’s a pretty lily picture I took

Okay, so getting a chicken salad sandwich anywhere is pretty much invitation for premature heart issues and water retention.  The gloppy mayonnaise, the white bread…horrible.  Yet so…wonderful.  I have to admit, I’m not a mayo enthusiast, but I’ve always loved a good ol’ saturated chicken salad sandwich.  I ran across a great page in one of my Real Simple issues on Chicken Salad 4 Ways.  It was just a good, base recipe and then little ways you can vary it.  I developed from those suggestions, my own version and something that is really refreshing, really tasty, but not quite as….white.

Everything Chicken Salad

1 rotisserie chicken, shredded
1 small Granny Smith apple, fine dice
1 large scallion, chopped
1/2 cup red seedless grapes, quartered
1/2 cup light mayo
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup chopped watercress
1/2 tsp curry powder
A dash or two of Kosher salt
A few grinds of black pepper

The rotisserie chickens come in several flavors at the grocery store.  I usually get something like the garlic or the lemon herb for this dish because while you take the skin off anyway (I hope) you still don’t want a heavy barbecue taste to the chicken for this recipe.  So yeah, take that chicken home and while it is still hot (it makes life so much easier), pull the chicken meat apart and just shred it by pulling each piece apart a few times.  Dice up your Granny Smith apple, scallion, grapes, walnuts and watercress and mix in with the chicken.  I sometimes toss it all together with my hands so that I don’t smash all the ingredients with a spoon.
Add the mayo, curry powder, salt and pepper and go ahead and use a spoon to mix it all together.  I like to serve this in those cute little pita pockets, with a garnish of extra watercress and scallions.
Serves 4

1 Comment

Filed under Food Stuffs

One response to “Recipe of the Day

  1. You are so creative and amazing!

Leave a Reply

