The Food Dictionary

In keeping with my wish for this blog to be useful, I thought of the wonderful world of food and cooking. I cook a lunch for about 40 college students every Thursday and at those lunches I get a lot of people saying, “How do you know how to do all this stuff? What is a bolognese? How do you saute something? What is a reduction?” And even a couple of weeks ago my lovely friend, Cassie, asked me what bitters were as one of the cupcake recipes she was making called for them. I only know these things because cooking is pretty much our hobby now. We read cookbooks, magazines like Gourmet and Bon Appetit, we watch shows like No Reservations, Good Eats, Nigella Bites and various chefographies, etc.

So I extend this invitation to anyone who might come across this blog to ask a question you’ve always had about food. Or ask a question you have about tonight’s dinner! Just put your question in the comments section and I’ll try to answer it. It can be anything from “What is matcha?” to “How on earth do you mince something?” No question is too simple – if you don’t cook very often it’s no crime to not know these things! If I get no questions, I’ll simply make some up – but I’d much rather answer questions real people might actually have!
In the meantime, I’ll tell you what I made for dinner tonight – it was so easy. Thanks, Martha!

Crispy Breaded Pork Cutlets

Crispy Breaded Pork Cutlets
Martha Stewart Show

Ingredients:

Close

Serves 4

  • 1 1/2 cups panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower
  • 4 boneless pork loin chops (6 to 8 ounces each)
  • 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepperDirections
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss panko with oil. Bake, tossing once, until golden brown, 7 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a medium bowl. Reduce oven temperature to 400 degrees.
  2. Meanwhile, one at a time, place chops between two large pieces of plastic wrap. Using a meat mallet or the bottom of a small heavy pan, pound to make 1/4-inch-thick cutlets.
  3. Dividing evenly, coat pork with mustard; season with salt and pepper. One at a time, dip cutlets into panko, pressing firmly to adhere.
  4. Place a rack on a rimmed baking sheet; place pork on rack, and bake, without turning, until opaque throughout, 10 to 15 minutes.

I also made the yummy creamed corn to go with the cutlets:

Ingredients

Serves 4

  • 1 box (10 ounces) frozen corn kernels
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 3 ounces reduced-fat cream cheese, cut into pieces
  • 2 tablespoons snipped fresh chives
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepperDirections
  1. In a medium saucepan, simmer corn and 1/4 cup milk over medium heat until corn is tender, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in cream cheese and chives. Season with salt and pepper. If desired, adjust consistency with a little more milk.
2 Comments

Filed under Food Stuffs, Tips and Tricks

2 responses to “The Food Dictionary

  1. Cassie

    Hi there. Just catching up on your blog! I like the idea about teaching us all your food knowledge! If I think of some questions I will be sure to ask, but I think it would be a good idea to list where you can find some of the unusual ingrediants you use. Anytime I see something foreign in a recipe, I shy away from it because I don’t have the time or energy to figure out where to get the stuff! Just an idea! Maybe you can note it on the recipes : )

Leave a Reply

