My Utmost For His Highest; Sept 1

I’ve thought of doing this several times – writing out the page of the day that appears in the very old book, My Utmost for His Highest, by Oswald Chambers.  Every page is a day of the year and every day it seems I need to hear what the subject addresses.  So I thought there are a few people out there who read my blog (or at least look at it from time to time to see if I’ve gotten my rear in gear) who might get something out of this.  So here we go – Sept 1 in My Utmost for His Highest: (this guy doesn’t sugar coat anything so be prepared)

Destined to be Holy

“…it is written, “Be holy, for I am holy” 1 Peter 1:16

We must continually remind ourselves of the purpose of life.  We are not destined to happiness, nor to health, but to holiness.  Today we have far too many desires and interests, and our lives are being consumed and wasted by them.  Many of them may be right, noble, and good, and may later be fulfilled, but in the meantime God must cause their importance to us to decrease.  The only thing that truly matters is whether a person will accept the God who will make him holy.  At all costs, a person must have the right relationship with God.

Do I believe I need to be holy?  Do I believe that God can come into me and make me holy?  If through your preaching you convince me that I am unholy, I then resent your preaching.  The preaching of the gospel awakens an intense resentment because it is designed to reveal my unholiness, but it also awakens an intense yearning and desire within me.  God has only one intended destiny for mankind — holiness.  His only goal is to produce saints.  God is not some eternal blessing-machine for people to use, and He did not come to save us out of pity — He came to save us because He created us to be holy.  Atonement through the cross of Christ means that God can put me back into perfect oneness with Himself through the death of Jesus Christ, without a trace of anything coming between us any longer.

Never tolerate, because of sympathy for yourself or for others, any practice that is not in keeping with a holy God.  Holiness means absolute purity of your walk before God, the words coming from your mouth and every thought in your mind — placing every detail of your life under the scrutiny of God Himself.  Holiness is not simply what God gives me, but what God has given me that is being exhibited in my life.”

If anything or any part of this daily devotional sticks out to you, please leave a comment – I’d love to hear what others think!

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Devotional

One response to “My Utmost For His Highest; Sept 1

  1. Denise Lane

    Wow. I can’t believe I was searching for Martha Stewart’s hair and came across “My Utmost for His Highness” on your blog. Way to go, you! God bless you, and keep up the good work. He’s reached many people thr0ugh the book itself, and now, through your blog, will reach many more.

    Take care,

    Denise

Leave a Reply

