Brownie Battle 2011

We had the very first annual Brownie Battle this past weekend.  Matt had talked about wanting to have a brownie competition for some time, for no other reason than to find an even more perfect  brownie than the one he already had.  So we put out the summons and people responded very well!  We had about 25 people participate and some just come to taste and there were roughly 15 different types of brownies to try! At first we were going to have it outside at a park, but with the temps in the triple digits, Matt pointed out that drinking milk and eating chocolate in the heat might not be the best idea.  So last minute, we moved it inside to Smooth Fusion, which was just the right size for everyone to get cozy, talk and eat crazy amounts of brownies.   The participants and their brownies!

I voted for Summer’s as being the best.  It had a velvety texture and was just so…different.  Found out she used the back of the box recipe on the Ghirardelli brownie mix, only doubled the salt and vanilla and used dark brown sugar instead of light.  She won Best Traditional!

Matt and his favorite – dark chocolate brownies with melted chocolate toffee bars on top.  These got a lot of votes and was tied up TWICE for best traditional brownie

Louise was very ambitious.  These are two of her submissions.  She brought three.  The one on the left is the Kahlua Cheesecake Brownies and on the right are Chipotle Brownies with a layer of dulce de leche in the middle and on top.  Amazing.  She took home the gold(en) prize for the kahlua cheesecake brownies!

Rod and Jill and their strong contender.  It really got a lot of points.  A very classic, rich brownie!  (with a sample already gone)

Tim and Lindsey and the most amazing brownie with salted caramel!  They almost won (by like 2 votes) the best creative brownie.  Kahlua will get you every time 🙂

Jennifer and her ambitious entries – on the left, snickerdoodle brownies (and she made home made snickerdoodle ice cream to go with it!) and on the right, a classic brownie with chocolate icing.  She ended up winning Prettiest Brownie for her Snickerdoodle brownies, but she got a lot of votes for regular favorite, too!

Cassie, Nixon and their traditional (and amazing) double chocolate brownies.

Jonathan, the baker, and his amazing version with ground cherries and toasted walnuts.  These were astoundingly good.

Shannon with Peanut Butter Nutella brownies.  This girl loves her Nutella.  They were awesome, of course!

Kelson had heat exhaustion (he participated in a triathlon earlier that morning), I think because he stared at me like this every time I talked to him, haha.  He brought golden brownies – like a glorified sugar cookie!

Philip and his brownie/caramel/pecan concoction of awesome.

I am not pictured because while I did submit brownies for judging, they sucked.  I didn’t let them finish baking and they really suffered in texture.  I’ve since eaten some after letting them settle in the pan for a couple days and they are chewy and awesome but that day, they were a bit grody.

 Jill enjoying Nixon

 Danielle and Ty made it!

Richard, Louise and Shannon

 Sweet Cass

The traditional side of the brownie display.  So this category couldn’t include anything too crazy.  Just simple chocolate on chocolate action, maybe some nuts, toffee, coffee, etc.

The creative side.  Snickerdoodles, chipotle, salted caramel, cheesecake, Kahlua, etc.

Ashley and Audrey.

An example of a tasting plate.

Kelle had a little somethin’ on her teeth…

We voted with poker chips.  Blue chips = your top fav, Red chips = second fav, White chips = third and Green chips were for “prettiest” or really, just an excuse to give out another award 🙂

Who wins for worst fake smile?  🙂

Nixon should have got the Most Cuddly award.  Thank you, Cassie, for letting us all pass him around!

Handing out awards

Louise won the coveted Golden Whisk for her Kahlua Cheesecake Brownies!

Some of my awesome clients even came!  Rika and Joseph and Gunnar Brake

Taking home the spoils!

So what should the next battle be?  Enchiladas?  Sliders?  Cast your vote in the comments!

15 Comments

Filed under Eating Adventures, Food Stuffs, General Hoo-Ha

15 responses to “Brownie Battle 2011

  1. Libby

    Seriously, my mouth is watering and I SO wish I could have been there!!!li

  2. Ashley whisenant

    Cookies, homemade ice cream, cheesecakes… Erica has made an amazing German chocolate cheesecake before! Haha my mind is on sweets obviously!

  3. So fun! I really wish I could have made it. I had a plan: Rolo Brownies and Bacon & Bourbon Brownies. I wasn’t gonna win, just increase my bacon experiment exposure 😀 Lol. Can’t wait to see what’s next!

  4. evan

    the brownies all look so yummy!! you could do a taco battle next!

  5. Tacos could be fun, I have a zillion ideas already from Big Truck Tacos 😀

    I still want to do fried rice sometime and give a golden wok to Gary at Aloha BBQ – I mean, whatever people decide is the best fried rice in town.

  6. Saundra

    Next contest: best item using sugar as an ingredient. It can be anything with sugar – bread, cookies, icecream, spaghetti sauce, etc. Sugar is the most important ingredient in my book!

    Or you could do it with bacon as the all important ingredient . . .

    • A bacon battle would be good. Sugar would be fun, too. Hey, we created a category AND a prize for prettiest brownie just for you and you didn’t show up to claim it! 🙂

      • Saundra

        I feel horrible about it, too!!!! I was so jazzed and had my plan! I am very sad that I missed it!!!!! Since I came up with my brownie plan, I am going to implement it and bring you some anyways.

  7. No, I can not have any more brownies! My weight is sky rocketing! I look forward to trying whatever you came up with, but maybe not during the rest of this month. I gotta get back on track!

  8. paulhunton

    mad we missed it…

  9. Summer

    It might be fun to have parties like these on a regular basis, similar to a dinner club. That way different people can host, and you and Matt aren’t stuck with it all the time. Also, we could set the food theme according to whatever holiday is the closest. Like, the 4th of July could be hot dogs and sliders…Cinco de Mayo, Enchiladas (and maragaritas???), any labor day….I don’t know…we can make it up!! 🙂 Just an idea! I CAN’T WAIT TO BE HOME!!!

    • Summer, we’ve always wanted to do a supper club. Matt’s most recent desire is to go around as a little group of 5 or something, and try various place’s fried rice. Everyone claims that “so-n-so” has the best fried rice in town. We have our opinion, too, so we thought it would be fun to try them all, write out our votes and give a Golden Wok away to the winner. I like your idea of holiday themed things. The possibilities are endless: pies at Thanksgiving, soups in the winter, burgers at the 4th, etc.

Leave a Reply

